PrintPrint © 2006 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Hurley and Gold named Rangers Minor League Pitcher and Player of the Year
09/11/2006 12:59 PM ET
ARLINGTON -- The Texas Rangers announced today that right-handed pitcher Eric Hurley was named the organization's 2006 Nolan Ryan Minor League Pitcher of the Year. Additionally, first baseman Nate Gold was named the 2006 Tom Grieve Minor League Player of the Year.

Hurley, the Rangers' second selection of the first round (30th overall) in the 2004 June draft, combined to go 8-7 with a 3.53 ERA (54 ER/137.2 IP) and 137 strikeouts in 24 games/starts for Bakersfield (A) and Frisco (AA). The 21-year-old right-hander ranked second among Texas full-season minor leaguers in ERA (3.53) and strikeouts (137). He started the season at Bakersfield, going 5-6, 4.11 (46 ER/100.2 IP) with 106 strikeouts in 18 games/starts for the Blaze. He was promoted to Double-A on July 24 and in six starts with the RoughRiders, went 3-1, 1.95 (8 ER/37.0 IP). He earned midseason California League All-Star honors and was selected to play in the 2006 XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game.

Gold, the Rangers' 10th round selection of the 2002 June draft, batted .291 (131-450) with 26 doubles, 34 home runs and 103 RBI in 119 games for Frisco this season. Gold ranked second among all minor leaguers with 34 homers, trailing only Kevin Witt (36) of Durham in the Tampa Bay Devil Rays organization, and ninth with 103 RBI. Both the 34 homers and 103 RBI established Frisco franchise records. The former Gonzaga standout was named a Texas League All-Star after leading the league in home runs and finishing second in RBI and slugging percentage (.582).


1984   Tommy Dunbar (OF)
1985   Steve Buechele (3B)
1986   Bob Brower (OF)
1987   Wayne Rosenthal (RHP)
1988   Kevin Reimer (OF)
1989   Jim Hvizda (RHP)
1990   Juan Gonzalez (OF)
1991   Rob Maurer (1B)
1992   Dan Smith (LHP)
1993   Rick Helling (RHP)
1994   Julio Santana (RHP)
1995   Fernando Tatis (3B)
1996   Lee Stevens (DH)
1997   Fernando Tatis (3B)
1998   Shawn Gallagher (1B)
1999   Mike Lamb (3B)
2000   Kevin Mench (OF)
2001   Hank Blalock (3B)
2002   Laynce Nix (OF)
2003   Ramon Nivar (OF)
2004   Ian Kinsler (SS)
2005   Travis Metcalf (3B)
2006   Nate Gold (1B)


1995   Jeff Davis (RHP)
1996   Ted Silva (RHP)
1997   Corey Lee (LHP)
1998   Jeff Zimmerman (RHP)
1999   Doug Davis (LHP)
2000   Jovanny Cedeno (RHP)
2001   Ryan Dittfurth (RHP)
2002   Ben Kozlowski (LHP)
2003   Juan Dominguez (RHP)
2004   Kameron Loe (RHP)
2005   Thomas Diamond (RHP)
2006   Eric Hurley (RHP)

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Rangers Homepage   |