To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
1962-1969 | 1970-1979 | 1980-1989 | 1990-1999 | 2000-Present

The ownership group from Houston, headed by Judge Roy Hofheinz, attended the annual Major League Baseball owners meetings in Chicago. On October 17, 1960, Houston was awarded a franchise in the ten-team National League.

1962  - The Houston Colt .45s play their first Major League game on April 10, defeating the Chicago Cubs 11-2.
1963  - Bob Bruce one-hits the Cincinnati Reds on April 26...Don Nottebart no-hits the Phillies on May 7.
1964  - Ken Johnson becomes the first major leaguer to lose a nine-inning no-hitter on April 23 with a 1-0 loss to the Cincinnati Reds.
1965  - The Houston Colt .45s become the Houston Astros and inaugurate indoor baseball with a 2-1 exhibition win over the New York Yankees on April 9 in the Astrodome...rookie Joe Morgan sets club marks for at-bats, runs, hits and triples.
1966  - Mike Cuellar sets a club mark with a 2.22 ERA...home attendance mark which stood for 22 years set on June 22 as 50,908 watch Sandy Koufax and the Dodgers down Houston 5-2.
1967  - Don Wilson fires a no-hitter vs. the Atlanta Braves, 2-0 on June 18, striking out Hank Aaron for final out...Jimmy Wynn sets club records with 37 home runs and 107 RBI.
1968  - Don Wilson strikes out 18 Cincinnati Reds in 6-1 win on July 14...four Houston hurlers win 10-or-more games: Don Wilson (13), Larry Dierker (12) Dave Guisti (11) and Denny LeMaster (10)...the Astros down the Mets 1-0 in 24 innings on April 15.
1969  - Cincinnati's Jim Maloney no-hits the Astros on April 30 and the next night, May 1, Don Wilson returns the favor by no-hitting the Reds 4-0...Larry Dierker becomes Houston's first 20-game winner...the club records its first .500 season (81-81).
1962-1969 | 1970-1979 | 1980-1989 | 1990-1999 | 2000-Present