Below is an advertisement.
Owners Years/Date

Frank McCourt purchases a controlling interest of the Dodgers from Fox Entertainment Group and Robert Daly.

Jan. 29, 2004

Under the leadership of Fox Entertainment Group, from 1998-2004, the Dodgers went 509-463.

Robert Daly acquires a minority stake in the Dodgers from Fox Entertainment Group and is named managing partner, chairman and CEO. Oct. 28, 1999

Fox Entertainment Group, owned by News Corp., purchases the Dodgers from Peter O'Malley and Terry Seidler. Bob Graziano is named president of the ballclub.

March 19, 1998

Under the leadership of Peter O'Malley, from 1970-1998, the Dodgers went 2372-2035 and won five National League titles and two World Series. During O'Malley's ownership, from 1979-1998, the Dodgers went 1514-1365 and won two National League titles and two World Series.

Walter O'Malley dies, 28 days after the death of his wife, Kay, and ownership of the Dodgers is assumed by Peter O'Malley and his sister, Terry Seidler.

Aug 9, 1979

Under the leadership of Walter O'Malley, from 1950-1979, the Dodgers went 2701-2060 and won 11 National League titles and four World Series. During O'Malley's ownership, from 1944-1979, the Dodgers went 3222-2465 and won 13 National League titles and four World Series.
Walter O'Malley acquires the remaining 33 1/3 percent of the Dodgers and owns 100 percent of the franchise. 1975
Walter O'Malley becomes chairman of the board and his son, Peter O'Malley, succeeds him as president of the Dodgers. March 17, 1970
Mrs. Smith sells her shares to Walter O'Malley and James and Dearie Mulvey. O'Malley now owns 66 2/3 percent of the Dodgers, while James and Dearie Mulvey increase their ownership to 33 1/3 percent. The Dodgers move from Brooklyn to Los Angeles. 1958

Walter O'Malley purchases 25 percent of the Dodgers from Branch Rickey, and becomes president.

Oct. 26, 1950

Under the leadership of Branch Rickey, from 1942-1950, the Dodgers went 795-592 and won two National League titles. During Rickey's ownership, from 1944-1950, the Dodgers went 610-470 and won two National League titles.
John Lawrence Smith dies, leaving his shares to his wife. July 10, 1950
After obtaining another 50 percent of the Dodgers, president Branch Rickey, Walter O'Malley and John Lawrence Smith each control 25 percent of the Dodgers. Mrs. Dearie Mulvey and her husband, James, own the remaining 25 percent. Aug. 13, 1945
Branch Rickey, Brooklyn attorney Walter O'Malley and Andrew Schmitz, who was acting as a proxy for Pfizer Pharmaceutical president John Lawrence Smith, purchase 25 percent of the Dodgers from the Ebbets Estate. Mrs. Dearie Mulvey and her husband, James, retain their stake in the ballclub. Nov. 1, 1944
After winning a National League Championship in 1941, Larry MacPhail heads off to the U.S. Army and is succeeded by former St. Louis Cardinals GM Branch Rickey. 1942

Stephen McKeever dies, leaving his stake in the ballclub to his daughter, Mrs. Dearie Mulvey and her husband, James, who was president of Samuel Goldwyn Productions. Former Cincinatti Reds GM Leland "Larry" MacPhail becomes president.

March 7, 1938

Under the leadership of Stephen McKeever, from 1933-1937, the Dodgers went 335-430. During McKeever's ownership, from 1913-1937, the Dodgers went 1791-1844 and won two National League titles.
Stephen McKeever becomes president of the Dodgers. Oct. 12, 1932
Frank B. York, legal advisor to the McKeevers, becomes president of the team. 1930

Charles Ebbets dies from heart failure. Acting president Edward McKeever catches a cold at Ebbets' funeral and dies 11 days after Ebbets. The ballclub is controlled by Stephen McKeever and the executors of the Ebbets Estate, which include the Brooklyn Trust Company, Joseph A. Gilleaudeau and Grace Slade Ebbets. Manager Wilbert Robinson is elected president.

April 18, 1925

Under the leadership of Charles Ebbets, the Dodgers went 1914-2088 and won four National League Championships.
The high cost of developing Ebbets Field, which would open in 1913, persuades Charles Ebbets to partner with contractors Stephen and Edward McKeever, who are brothers. Ebbets and the McKeevers buy out Henry Medicus, the Brooklyn Baseball Club, Inc., is formed and ownership is divided 50/50 between Ebbets and the McKeevers. 1912
Charles Ebbets and Henry Medicus buy out Ferdinand Abell and Ned Hanlon. 1907
Charles Ebbets' friend Henry Medicus, a Brooklyn furniture manufacturer, joins with Ebbets to buy Harry Von der Horst's shares. 1905
The Brooklyn Bridegrooms and Baltimore Orioles merge, with Baltimore owner Harry Von der Horst and Ned Hanlon taking a 49.6 percent stake in the team and many Orioles star players coming to Brooklyn. 1899
Charles Ebbets is elected president as he and Ferdinand Abell buy the stock formerly owned by Charles Byrne. 1898

Charles Byrne and Ferdinand Abell buy out George Chauncey and own the ballclub along with Charles Ebbets, who began his career in the organization as a 24-year-old employee in 1883 and slowly acquired 10 percent of the club by reinvesting his income. Charles Byrne dies soon after.


Under the leadership of Charles Byrne, the Dodgers went 567-506 and won the first National League title.
Real estate mogul George Chauncey joins Ferdinand Abell and Charles Byrne in the ownership group. 1891
The Dodgers, owned by Ferdinand Abell, a northeast businessman, and team president Charles Byrne, a real estate agent and former sportswriter, enter the National League. 1890