Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Angels lose challenge on Sogard's bunt hit

Pujols says he applies tag after high throw from Beckham, but call stands

ANAHEIM -- A's shortstop Eric Sogard was ruled safe at first base in the seventh inning on Friday night and after the Angels challenged, replay officials ruled that the call stands.

With two outs and nobody on, Sogard pushed a bunt down the third-base line, where Gordon Beckham barehanded the ball and fired a throw across his body to Albert Pujols at first. Beckham's throw sailed high and into foul territory and forced Pujols to jump off the base to snare the throw.

View Full Game Coverage

Pujols then reached around his back in an attempt to tag Sogard but didn't appear to ever touch the A's shortstop.

One pitch later, Craig Gentry rocketed a line drive right at Beckham that ended the inning with the Angels leading, 3-0.

Matthew DeFranks is an associate reporter for

Los Angeles Angels, Gordon Beckham, Albert Pujols, Eric Sogard