Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Oklahoman Keuchel wins Spahn Award as top lefty

Astros' hurler earns honor named after Hall of Famer from home state

HOUSTON -- Astros left-hander Dallas Keuchel was named the winner of the 2015 Warren Spahn Award on Monday, presented annually to the best lefty pitcher in Major League Baseball.

The Warren Spahn Award is based on a pitcher's wins, strikeouts and ERA. The award is named after Oklahoman and National Baseball Hall of Famer Warren Spahn, who holds the MLB record for wins by a left-handed pitcher (363).

Complete Awards coverage

Keuchel, a frontrunner for the American League Cy Young Award, went 20-8 with a 2.48 ERA and 216 strikeouts in 232 innings this past season.

Keuchel will be formally recognized Jan. 28, 2016, during the Warren Spahn Award Gala at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame & Jim Thorpe Museum. The event is hosted by Oklahoma City's Bricktown Rotary Club in conjunction with the Jim Thorpe Association.

Video: AL Cy Young Finalist: Dallas Keuchel

"This award means everything to me," Keuchel said in a statement. "Being from Oklahoma, I am very fond of the legacy that Mr. Spahn has. I am very humbled to be in such great company, and it's something I will hold dear for the rest of my life."

Keuchel grew up in Tulsa and has a house there. He played baseball at the University of Arkansas.

"I am ecstatic that Dallas Keuchel, an Oklahoman, wins my father's award," said Greg Spahn, son of the late Warren Spahn. "Dallas was the winningest lefty of the 2015 season, a truly breakthrough year for him and a much-deserved award."

The Houston pitcher adds the Warren Spahn Award to an already impressive list of 2015 honors, including an AL Rawlings Gold Glove Award and MLB Players Choice Outstanding Pitcher Award. Keuchel was selected to the All-Star Game.

Past Warren Spahn Award winners include: Clayton Kershaw (2014, '13, '11), Gio Gonzalez ('12); David Price ('10); CC Sabathia (2007-09); Johan Santana ('06, '04); Dontrelle Willis ('05); Andy Pettitte ('03); and Randy Johnson (1999-2002).

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Tag's Lines. Follow @brianmctaggart on Twitter and listen to his podcast.
Read More: Houston Astros, Dallas Keuchel