Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Houston College Classic concludes, Texas named tournament champions

All-tournament team named; Field for 2015 officially announced

HOUSTON -- The Houston College Classic concluded tonight at Minute Maid Park with Texas being named the Tournament Champion with a perfect 3-0 record. Entering today with identical 2-0 records, Texas and Sam Houston State played a close ballgame in this morning's contest, which resulted in a 3-2 Texas victory.

Following Texas, Sam Houston State finished 2-1, while the University of Houston, Rice, TCU and Texas Tech each went 1-2.

Each team placed at least one player on the 2014 Houston College Classic All-Tournament Team, which was highlighted by the Classic's Most Outstanding Player RHP Aaron Garza from Houston, who tossed 8.2 scoreless frames in Houston's Friday afternoon victory over Texas Tech.

The remaining 2014 All-Tournament Team filled out as listed below:

                C             Anthony Azar, Sam Houston State     .385 (5x13), R, 3B, 2 RBI, HB, SB

                1B          Casey Grayson, Houston                           .333 (4x12), R, 2 2B, RBI

                2B          Garrett Crain, TCU                                         .286 (2x7), R, HB

                3B          Carter Burgess, Sam Houston State    .545 (6x11), R, 3B, RBI, HB, SB

                SS           Ryan Long, Texas Tech                              .400 (4x10), R, 2B, RBI

                OF          Colt Atwood, Sam Houston State        .462 (6x13), 3 R, RBI

                OF          Hayden Simerly, Sam Houston State .455 (5x11), 2 R, 3B, HR, 2 RBI, SB

                OF          Kyle Survance, Houston                            .357 (5x14), R

                DH         Jacob Lueneburg, Houston                    .250 (3x12), R, 2 2B, 4 RBI

                P             Blake Fox, Rice                                               1-0, 0.00 ERA (0ER/6IP), 5 H, 2 BB, 7 SO

                P             Aaron Garza, Houston                                1-0, 0.00 ERA (0ER/8.2IP), 6 H, 0 BB, 7 SO

                P             Dillon Peters, Texas                                     1-0, 0.00 ERA (0ER/8IP), 4 H, 0 BB, 6 SO

                P             Chris Sadberry, Texas Tech                      1-0, 0.00 ERA (0ER/7IP), 5 H, 0 BB, 2 SO

Houston College Classic Most Outstanding Player: RHP Aaron Garza, Houston

The Astros also announced the field for the 2015 Houston College Classic will feature Baylor, the University of Houston, LSU, Mississippi State, Nebraska and Texas A&M. Rice, which has been in every Houston College Classic since 2001, could not participate in 2015 due to a scheduling conflict.

The 2015 Houston College Classic will mark the event's 15th year and will feature nine games at Minute Maid Park from March 6-8, 2015.

Houston Astros