Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Castro looks to become back-to-back All-Star

Fans can vote for their favorite Astros from April 29 until June 15

Catcher Jason Castro, who became the first player to represent the Astros as an American League All-Star last year, figures to once again be one of Houston's top candidates to make the Midsummer Classic this year.

Castro is among the Astros players on the All-Star ballot this year, joining second baseman Jose Altuve, who made the National League All-Star team in 2012. Altuve is one off to a good start once again for the Astros and could make some noise in the voting.

Castro, who set career highs in nearly every offensive category last year, became the first Astros catcher to make an All-Star team since Craig Biggio in 1990. If he makes it, he would become the first Astros player to make consecutive All-Star Games since Miguel Tejada in 2008-09.

Also on the ballot are first baseman Jesus Guzman, shortstop Jonathan Villar, third baseman Matt Dominguez, designated hitter Chris Carter and outfielders Dexter Fowler, L.J. Hoes and Robbie Grossman, who was optioned to Triple-A on April 15.

Fowler is on the AL ballot for the first time after playing the first years of his career with the Rockies. Dominguez and Carter were on the ballot last year for Houston, and Villar, Hoes and Grossman are making their first appearances on the All-Star ballot.

The Astros haven't had an All-Star elected by fan voting since Lance Berkman at first base in 2008.

Voting at Minute Maid Park begins April 29 and ends June 15.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 10:59 p.m. CT. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 7 p.m. CT on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Tag's Lines. Follow @brianmctaggart on Twitter.

Houston Astros, Jose Altuve, Chris Carter, Jason Castro, Matt Dominguez, Dexter Fowler, Robbie Grossman, L.J. Hoes, Jonathan Villar