Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Astros 2nd Round Pick A.J. Reed Wins Dick Howser Trophy

Award given to college player that best represents courage, character, leadership, performance

HOUSTON, TX - A.J. Reed, who the Astros selected in the second round of this year's Major League Baseball First Year Player Draft, was presented with the Dick Howser Trophy on Saturday at the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

The award, in its 28th year of being presented by the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, is voted on by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and given to the player who best represents courage, character, leadership and performance.

Other finalists included Oregon State outfielder Michael Conforto (No. 10 overall, Mets), LSU right-hander Aaron Nola (No. 7, Phillies), Kennesaw State catcher Max Pentecost (No. 11, Blue Jays) and Oregon State right-hander Ben Wetzler (ninth round, Marlins).

Reed, who has been assigned by the Astros to their Class A Tri-City roster, was also named Collegiate Baseball's National Player of the Year, Baseball America College Player of the Year, Collegiate Baseball Newspaper National Player of the Year and Southeastern Conference Player of the Year. He was named a first-team All-American by Collegiate Baseball, the NCBWA and Baseball America. The recipients of the Golden Spikes Award and American Baseball Coaches Association Award have yet to be announced.

At the University of Kentucky this season, Reed led NCAA Division I in home runs (23), slugging percentage (.735) and OPS (1.211), while ranking second in total bases (164) and third in RBI (73) while batting .336. As a starting pitcher, he was 12-2 with a 2.09 ERA. Reed (6-4, 240) was drafted as a first baseman by Houston.

Howser was a two-time All-American shortstop and longtime coach at Florida State. He also was an eight-year Major League veteran and manager of the 1985 World Series champion Royals.

Recent winners of the trophy include Cubs prospect Kris Bryant ('13), Mariners catcher Mike Zunino ('12), Brewers prospect Taylor Jungmann ('11), Nationals infielder Anthony Rendon ('10), Nationals right-hander Stephen Strasburg ('09), Giants catcher Buster Posey ('08) and Rays left-hander David Price ('07).

Houston Astros