Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Houston College Classic Names 2015 All-Tournament Team, 2016 Field

Texas A&M crowned tournament champions; New attendance record set at Minute Maid Park

HOUSTON, TX - The 2015 Houston College Classic concluded tonight at Minute Maid Park with Texas A&M being named the Tournament Champions with a perfect 3-0 record. The Aggies were matched by LSU, which also went 3-0, but earned the tiebreaker with a plus-eight run differential, as opposed to the Tigers plus-six mark. Hawaii, the University of Houston and Nebraska each went 1-2, while Baylor finished 0-3.

The Houston College Classic had a total weekend attendance of 37,793, with strong crowds on Friday (10,651), Saturday (16,276) and Sunday (10,866). This marks the highest total tournament attendance since 2007. Minute Maid Park hosted the Houston College Classic and Astros FanFest on the same weekend from 2001-07, making 2015 the highest total tournament attendance since the two events split.

Each team placed at least one player on the 2015 Houston College Classic All-Tournament Team, which was highlighted by the Classic's Most Outstanding Player RHP Grayson Long from Texas A&M. He tossed 7.0 scoreless frames, recording 10 strikeouts, in the Aggie's Saturday night victory over Houston.

The remaining 2015 All-Tournament Team filled out as listed below:

   C   Michael Barash, Texas A&M   
   1B   Chris Iriart, Houston   
   2B   Josh Vidales, Houston   
   3B   Conner Hale, LSU  
   SS   Alex Bregman, LSU   
   OF   Kaeo Aliviado, Hawaii  
   OF   Austin Darby, Nebraska   
   OF   J.B. Moss, Texas A&M   
   DH   Ben Miller, Nebraska   
   P   Daniel Castano, Baylor  
   P   Matt Kent, Texas A&M  
   P   Alex Lange, LSU   
   P   Grayson Long, Texas A&M  

   Houston College Classic Most Outstanding Player: RHP Grayson Long, Texas A&M

The Astros also announced the field for the 2016 Houston College Classic, which will feature both the University of Houston and Rice, along with Arkansas, Louisiana-Lafayette, TCU and Texas Tech. The 16th annual tournament will feature nine games at Minute Maid Park from Feb. 26-28, 2016.

Read More: Houston Astros