Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

A’s Josh Reddick wins Rawlings Gold Glove

Becomes First Oakland Outfielder to Earn Award in 27 Years

Right fielder Josh Reddick has won a Rawlings Gold Glove Award for his spectacular play with the 2012 American League West champion Oakland Athletics, the Rawlings Sporting Goods Company announced today. 

Reddick, acquired from the Boston Red Sox last offseason, becomes the first Oakland outfielder bestowed the honor since Dwayne Murphy won a Gold Glove in 1985.  The last Athletic player to earn the award was third baseman Eric Chavez in 2006.

The 25-year-old Savannah, Ga. native batted .242 in leading the A’s in doubles (29), home runs (32) and RBI (85) while stealing 11 bases in 12 attempts.  His 15 outfield assists were the most by an Athletic in 29 years and tied Rickey Henderson (1980) and Reggie Jackson (1971) for third most in Oakland history.  Only Tony Armas (17 in 1980) and Mike Davis (16 in 1983) have had more.  The 15 assists ranked third among all American League outfielders in 2012, trailing only Kansas City’s Jeff Francoeur (19) and Alex Gordon (17).  Reddick also tied for fifth among AL outfielders in double plays with three.

The greatest measure of fielding excellence since 1957, the prestigious Rawlings Gold Glove Award is presented annually to 18 players, one from each position, in both the American and National Leagues.  They are selected by Major League managers and coaches prior to the conclusion of the regular season, with those selecting unable to vote for their own players.

Reddick becomes only the eighth Athletic player and fourth outfielder to win the Rawlings Gold Glove Award.  Previous A’s to earn the award include:

Dwayne Murphy, OF (6) — 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985

Eric Chavez, 3B (6) — 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006

Joe Rudi, OF (3) — 1974, 1975, 1976

Mike Norris, P (2) — 1980, 1981

Rickey Henderson, OF (1) — 1981

Alfredo Griffin, SS (1) — 1985

Mark McGwire, 1B (1) — 1990

Oakland Athletics