Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Buehrle, Dickey named Gold Glove finalists

Lefty is four-time winner, while knuckleballer has never won award

TORONTO -- Left-hander Mark Buehrle and knuckleballer R.A. Dickey were named as finalists for this year's Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Friday.

Buehrle and Dickey were two of the three American League pitchers announced by Rawlings Sports via Twitter. The only Blue Jays players nominated at any position, their competition is Tigers right-hander Doug Fister.

The honors are given to players who exhibit superior individual fielding performances, and the winner at each spot will be announced during an awards show on Tuesday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Buehrle has won a Gold Glove Award in each of the past four seasons. He won three while pitching for the White Sox from 2009-11 and also received the honor during his first year with Miami in '12. Dickey has yet to win the award in his career, but is known for his ability to make quick plays off the mound.

Toronto third baseman Brett Lawrie was a glaring omission at third base. He was edged out by Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria, Texas' Adrian Beltre and Baltimore's Manny Machado. Lawrie's case was likely hurt because of his extended absence with various injuries, but he's starting to garner a reputation as being one of the better defenders in the game.

The awards were voted on by managers and coaches in September. This year also marked the first season that the process incorporated sabermetrics as a component of determining the winners. A committee of seven sabermetric experts collected data for the SABR Defensive Index.

The SDI draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted balls, location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts.

Tampa Bay garnered a great deal of attention, as the club had fours infielders nominated for a Gold Glove Award: first baseman James Loney, second baseman Ben Zobrist, shortstop Yunel Escobar and Longoria.

The complete list of finalists:


Mark Buehrle, Blue Jays
R.A. Dickey, Blue Jays
Doug Fister, Tigers

Joe Mauer, Twins
Salvador Perez, Royals
Matt Wieters, Orioles

First base
Chris Davis, Orioles
Eric Hosmer, Royals
James Loney, Rays

Second base
Robinson Cano, Yankees
Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox
Ben Zobrist, Rays

Third base
Adrian Beltre, Rangers
Evan Longoria, Rays
Manny Machado, Orioles

Alcides Escobar, Royals
Yunel Escobar, Rays
J.J. Hardy, Orioles

Left field
Yoenis Cespedes, A's
Andy Dirks, Tigers
Alex Gordon, Royals

Center field
Lorenzo Cain, Royals
Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox
Adam Jones, Orioles

Right field
Nick Markakis, Orioles
Shane Victorino, Red Sox
Josh Reddick, A's


Patrick Corbin, D-backs
Zack Greinke, Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals

A.J. Ellis, Dodgers
Russell Martin, Pirates
Yadier Molina, Cardinals

First base
Paul Goldschmidt, D-backs
Adrian Gonzalez, Dodgers
Anthony Rizzo, Cubs

Second base
Darwin Barney, Cubs
Brandon Phillips, Reds
Mark Ellis, Dodgers

Third base
Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Juan Uribe, Dodgers
David Wright, Mets

Ian Desmond, Nationals
Andrelton Simmons, Braves
Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies

Left field
Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
Starling Marte, Pirates
Eric Young Jr., Mets

Center field
Carlos Gomez, Brewers
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
Denard Span, Nationals

Right field
Jay Bruce, Reds
Jason Heyward, Braves
Gerardo Parra, D-backs

Gregor Chisholm is a reporter for Read his blog, North of the Border, and follow him on Twitter @gregorMLB.

Toronto Blue Jays, Mark Buehrle, R.A. Dickey