Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Braun, Gallardo headline Brewers' BBWAA awards

Ryan Braun received the Brewers' Most Valuable Player Award from the Milwaukee chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America for the second consecutive season, while right-hander Yovani Gallardo earned Pitcher of the Year honors.

Third baseman Aramis Ramirez was named Top Newcomer, righty Marco Estrada earned the Unsung Hero Award and John Axford received the Good Guy Award.

Braun and Gallardo each received all eight first-place votes for their respective awards. Braun followed his National League MVP Award season of a year ago by batting .319 with a career-high 41 home runs and 112 RBIs. He also stole 30 bases and led the NL in home runs, total bases (356), runs (108) and OPS (.987), while tying for the lead in extra-base hits (80).

Gallardo went 16-9 with a 3.66 ERA in 33 starts this season, while ranking among NL leaders in quality starts (tied for second, 25), strikeouts (sixth, 204) and wins (tied for sixth). The Brewers were 22-11 when Gallardo started.

Ramirez earned seven of the eight first-place votes for Top Newcomer, with outfielder Norichika Aoki receiving the other vote. Ramirez hit .300 with 27 home runs and 105 RBIs in his first season in Milwaukee. He led the NL in doubles, tied Braun for most extra-base hits and led all NL third basemen with a .977 fielding percentage.

Estrada edged outfielder Carlos Gomez, catcher Martin Maldonado, pitcher Mike Fiers and Aoki for Unsung Hero honors after going 5-7 with a 3.64 ERA this season.

Axford won the Good Guy Award over first baseman Corey Hart, outfielder Nyjer Morgan, Gomez and Estrada, all of whom also received first-place votes.

Milwaukee Brewers, John Axford, Ryan Braun, Marco Estrada, Yovani Gallardo, Aramis Ramirez