Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Braun leads trio of Brewers' GIBBY nominees

MILWAUKEE -- Ryan Braun is up for MLB MVP and Hitter of the Year when the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards (GIBBYs) are handed out during next month's Winter Meetings, and fans will help to pick the winners.

Braun is in the running with the Tigers' Miguel Cabrera, the Pirates' Andrew McCutchen, the Giants' Buster Posey and the Angels' Mike Trout for the MLB MVP -- a new GIBBY honoring the game's top star.

Also nominated is Brewers outfielder Norichika Aoki for Rookie of the Year. His competition is the A's Yoenis Cespedes, Ryan Cook and Jarrod Parker, the Rangers' Yu Darvish, the Nationals' Bryce Harper, Red Sox's Will Middlebrooks, the D-backs Wade Miley, the Cubs' Anthony Rizzo, the Rockies' Wilin Rosario and Trout.

And the Brewers also have an entry for Play of the Year -- shortstop Alex Gonzalez's heads-up throw home to finish a win over the Cardinals on April 29.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2012 GIBBYs trophies -- the ultimate honors of the sport's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels.

In the past four years, you the fans have cast more than 40 million votes across the various GIBBYs categories, none of which were restricted to individual League affiliation.

You can vote as many times as you want until fan balloting closes Sunday, Dec. 2, at 10:59 p.m. CT.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Milwaukee Brewers, Norichika Aoki, Ryan Braun