Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Carlos Gomez leads Brewers "We Energies High-Energy Player of the Year" Voting

The second returns for the "We Energies High-Energy Player of the Year" award have Brewers center fielder Carlos Gomez in first place with 28% of the votes. Fans currently have the opportunity to vote for the Brewers player who they believe best personifies the characteristics of hard work and an aggressive approach to playing the game.

Left fielder Ryan Braun is currently in second place with 22% of the votes. Shortstop Jean Segura closely trails Braun in third place with 21% of the votes.

From now through Sunday, Sept. 8, fans can vote by Additionally, fans may cast their votes via text message at designated Brewers home games, and local media will have the opportunity to participate via an emailed ballot. Votes from fans, media and We Energies will be combined to determine the winner.

Each fan voting online as a part of the "We Energies High-Energy Player of the Year" promotion will be entered to win a Brewers VIP package. The winner will be randomly selected to receive a VIP pre-game experience and Field Diamond Box tickets for six guests and will participate in a pre-game ceremony on the field when the Brewers take on the St. Louis Cardinals on Sept. 20, 2013. The winner will also receive an autographed jersey signed by the High-Energy Player of the Year and the use of a Club Level suite for one future Brewers home game.

Fans can check results regularly as voting totals will be announced on a monthly basis. Fifty-two lucky fans also will win four Loge Outfield tickets for a Brewers home game between June 3 and Sept. 22. 

Ryan Braun won the award in 2012 and 2008. Other past winners include Nyjer Morgan (2011), Rickie Weeks (2010), Craig Counsell (2009), Prince Fielder (2007) and Bill Hall (2006). For more information, please visit

Milwaukee Brewers