Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Cubs score first run after call overturned

Replay shows Rizzo safe at second in eighth; Chicago loses challenge in 13th

PITTSBURGH -- The Cubs finally scored a run, thanks to an overturned call after manager Rick Renteria challenged a play at second base, the first of three replay reviews in Chicago's 4-3 loss to the Pirates on Wednesday.

Trailing 2-0 in the eighth against the Pirates' Mark Melancon, Emilio Bonifacio and Luis Valbuena each singled, and both advanced on Starlin Castro's groundout. Anthony Rizzo was then hit by a pitch for the second time in the game, which loaded the bases, and Nate Schierholtz hit what was ruled an inning-ending 4-6-3 double play.

View Full Game Coverage

But Renteria challenged the call at second, saying shortstop Jordy Mercer was off the bag. Second-base umpire John Tumpane consulted with the Replay Operations Center at Major League Baseball Advanced Media's headquarters in New York, and the call was overturned. The ruling was made in 2 minutes, 24 seconds. As a result, Bonifacio scored, Rizzo was safe and Schierholtz was out at first.

Teams are not allowed to challenge the so-called "neighborhood play," but that wasn't the case in this instance.

"You can't argue a neighborhood play," Renteria said. "It was just a throw that took him off the bag. I thought we clearly saw it took him away from the bag and they saw the same thing."

With the game tied at 3-3 in the 13th, Renteria issued another challenge when Pedro Alvarez was called safe at third after reliever Wesley Wright fielded a bunt and tried to get the force. After review, the umpires signaled that the call on the field stands, which meant the bases were loaded with no outs. The Cubs got out of the jam courtesy of a rare 7-2-3 double play -- left fielder Junior Lake was moved into the infield -- and then a forceout at second.

In the bottom of the eighth, a call that Pittsburgh's Starling Marte had fouled off a bunt attempt stood after instant-replay review.

Marte, leading off with the Pirates holding the 2-1 lead, had squared around to bunt Pedro Strop's 0-and-1 pitch, and plate umpire Bob Davidson ruled that Marte had fouled off the tight pitch while trying to avoid getting hit by it. After determining that Marte had not been hit by the pitch, Davidson's call stood and Marte's at-bat continued. He struck out.

Renteria was the first manager to use Major League Baseball's expanded replay on Monday.

Tony Sanchez ended the longest game in Pittsburgh history with a walk-off single in the 16th.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings, and you can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat.