Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Corey Seager hit a ground-rule double on a pitch he thought he had fouled back

Corey Seager doubled on ball he thought was foul

There are some who say that our reality is simply how we perceive it, that what is and what we believe it to be are all the same. The world is gossamer and we are the spider spinning the web. 

However, Game 1 of the NLDS between the Mets-Dodgers, which the Mets won 3-1, may have disproved that. After all, Corey Seager's double never would have been if that was the case. 

Coming to the plate in the bottom of the third inning, Seager took a big cut at the offering from Jacob deGrom, at first assuming it was a simple foul ball back behind the plate.

description

Instead, the ball not only went fair, but it went soaring down the left-field line, eventually dropping just before the line and bouncing into the stands. Given Michael Cuddyer's route on the ball, he may have also believed the ball was foul -- furthering the proof that no, the world does not quite exist in our minds.

description

Unless, and I say this with the most serious gravitas possible, unless this entire game of baseball and this blog post and everything else that we think of as real is just the dream of some brain sitting on a laboratory shelf and ... well, you get the idea. 

description

Read More: Los Angeles DodgersMichael CuddyerCorey Seager