Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

If we took the average of Aaron Barrett's two wild pitches on Tuesday, would we get a strike?

Would Barrett's two wild pitches equal one strike?

Nationals reliever Aaron Barrett entered Game 4 of the NLDS in the bottom of the seventh inning on Tuesday night. The score was tied, 2-2, with runners on first and second. Barrett proceeded to load the bases by walking Hunter Pence and then came up juuust a bit short on a 2-1 pitch to Pablo Sandoval. The Giants took a lead they would never relinquish. 


Barrett then tried to intentionally walk Sandoval, but instead, left his pitch a bit too high.


Although Barrett was able to hustle to home plate to record the out, we wanted to take a closer look at his two wild pitches. What if he could hop on McCovey Cove's DeLorean and go back in time to watch himself pitch? What if he could then use expert math and negotiation skills to convince home-plate umpire Hunter Wendelstedt that the average of his two wild pitches is equal to a strike and that's all that matters?

"None of these runs should count, Hunter!"

Would the Nationals have won Game 4? Would they have won the World Series? Would they have won the SUPER BOWL!?

Sadly, we'll never know ...