Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Question of the Day: Starting Pitcher of the Year?

The big announcement is coming tonight exclusively on and MLB Network, when one of 10 nominees will win Starting Pitcher of the Year in the 10th annual Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards (GIBBYs), presented from 9-11 p.m. ET as the last word on Major League Baseball awards season.

Candidates include Roy Halladay of the Phillies, Felix Hernandez of the Mariners, Ian Kennedy of the D-backs, Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers, Cliff Lee of the Phillies, CC Sabathia of the Yankees, James Shields of the Rays, Jered Weaver of the Angels, C.J. Wilson while with the Rangers (now Angels) and Justin Verlander of the Tigers.

There is one winner regardless of league, and pitchers are not eligible for Player of the Year, the other primary award out of the record 19 GIBBYs categories. So it will be interesting to see how this turns out in light of Verlander and Kershaw taking the Cy Youngs and Verlander also having won the American League MVP. These awards matter, because they represent all 30 MLB clubs and they are selected with 25 percent weighed evenly among fans, media, front-office personnel and MLB alumni.

Millions have had their say at, and it is time to find out once and for all before moving on to 2012.