Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Rusney Castillo forgets how many outs there are, definitely needs that ball back

Rusney Castillo tosses ball in stands with two outs

With a runner on first in the seventh inning of the Red Sox's 6-4 win over the Indians, Cleveland's Jose Ramirez popped up a fly ball to right fielder Rusney Castillo. Castillo reeled in the ball and then flicked it into the stands for some fans standing with their gloves outstretched -- which would've been totally cool if the inning had been over. But Ramirez was just the second out of the inning.

So … Castillo maybe should not have gotten rid of the ball.

castillo.gif

Abraham Almonte tagged up at first and casually strolled over to third on what was officially ruled as a throwing error on Castillo. But since Castillo meant to throw the ball, was it really an error? The Red Sox fan was calling for the ball, and Castillo was probably just trying to be generous.

And besides, Jason Kipnis struck out in the next at-bat -- so no harm, no foul. 

Read More: Boston Red Sox