Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Ryan Howard somehow snuck the ol' 'single off your own leg' trick past everybody

Howard hits ball off his leg, ends up with single

MLB rules stipulate that "A foul ball is a batted ball ... that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground." Apparently there's also a little-known addendum stipulating that the above is true "unless you're a ninja who can sneakily will the ball off of his leg, in which case go ahead and take first base." Either that, or Ryan Howard is an Animorph who can transform from human into the natural ground: 

Howard leg single

It's hard to blame the umpires for not seeing what happened -- the ball hit so far up Howard's leg that the third-base umpire didn't have a great angle, and everyone else's view was blocked. Which, really, makes it the perfect crime. We're onto you and your mystical deflections, Howard. 

Read More: Philadelphia Phillies