Jose Abreu gets ball stuck in glove, throws glove to first base
Abreu throws glove to first for the out
If you're reading this site, you're probably well versed in the rules of baseball. But during Saturday's White Sox-Indians game, a situation arose that might give pause to even the most passionate baseball fan.
In the sixth inning, Cleveland third baseman Lonnie Chisenhall slapped a ground ball toward Chicago's Jose Abreu, but the ball became trapped in Abreu's glove. With Chisenhall bearing down on first base, and pitcher Scott Carroll heading to the bag to make the out, Abreu had to think quickly.
So, he just threw the ball to Carroll -- glove and all:
In case you're wondering, that absolutely counts. You might recall Orlando Hernandez aka El Duque doing the same thing during a Subway Series matchup back in 1999, when a Rey Ordonez comebacker became lodged in his glove:
So, not only is Abreu a ridiculous hitting machine, but he's also a quick thinker out in the field. This just doesn't seem fair, now does it?