Zack Greinke appeals his own check swing, ends up accidentally playing himself
Traditionally, Zack Greinke has been a big fan of strikes: He's racked up 1,945 K's over his career. As a pitcher, after all, they're pretty important to his success. So important, in fact, that he's willing to do a little extra work to earn them -- like, say, appealing to the first- or third-base umpires to see if a batter was able to hold up or not.
After 13 years as a Major League starter, it starts to become second nature: If there's a check swing, you always appeal. Sadly, though, this apparently applies at all times, even if Greinke himself is the batter. During Saturday's 8-7 win over the Padres, Greinke checked his swing on a pitch in the dirt from San Diego's Brad Hand. Catcher Derek Norris didn't notice anything unusual. Neither did Hand. Everyone was ready to move on ... everyone, that is except for Greinke.
That is the look of a man who's just realized that he's played himself.