Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

D-backs announced 2012 Opening Day roster

PHOENIX -- The Arizona Diamondbacks announced a number of roster moves today to complete their 25-man roster prior to Friday’s Opening Day game vs. the San Francisco Giants:

  • Outrighted LHP Mike Zagurski to Triple-A Reno;
  • Reassigned catcher Ryan Budde, infielder Cody Ransom and outfielder A.J. Pollock to Reno.

The Opening Day roster includes 12 pitchers, seven infielders, four outfielders and two catchers.

Pitchers (12): Craig Breslow, Trevor Cahill, Josh Collmenter, David Hernandez, Daniel Hudson, Ian Kennedy, Wade Miley, Joe Paterson, J.J. Putz, Joe Saunders, Bryan Shaw and Brad Ziegler.

Infielders (7): Willie Bloomquist, Geoff Blum, Paul Goldschmidt, Aaron Hill, John McDonald, Lyle Overbay and Ryan Roberts.

Outfielders (4): Jason Kubel, Gerardo Parra, Justin Upton and Chris Young.

Catchers (2): Henry Blanco and Miguel Montero.

Infielder Stephen Drew and right-handed pitcher Takashi Saito will start the season on the 15-day disabled list.

Arizona Diamondbacks