Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Hill nets D-backs' top defender honor from Wilson

PHOENIX -- Sometimes it seems the defensive part of Aaron Hill's game gets overlooked.

The D-backs second baseman, however, got recognition for his prowess in the field recently when he was a recipient of an inaugural Wilson Defensive Player of the Year award. The awards were given to the best defensive player on each Major League club.

The award winners were determined by the detailed statistical analysis of MLB Network's "shredder system" used by Clubhouse Confidential, plus input from MLB Network analysts.

After coming over from the Blue Jays in a trade in August 2011, Hill has hit .304 with an .881 OPS, but he's been every bit as good on defense.

"He's a great baseball player," D-backs shortstop John McDonald said. "His mind is always in the game, it's always attuned to what's going on. He prides himself on being extremely prepared and a step ahead of what's going to happen in the game. It shines through in his play. His at-bats, he's always in the right spot in the field. There's no luck to that. It's all his habit and his work ethic and his drive to be the best second baseman in the game."

The Wilson Defensive Player of the Year award is just the start of the award season. In addition to the awards given out by the baseball writers, there are also the GIBBY Awards.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels. Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Arizona Diamondbacks, Aaron Hill