Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

D-backs award Munoz, Sinnery with monthly honors for July

The Arizona Diamondbacks (@Dbacks) named Rookie-Advanced Missoula infielder Joe Muñoz and Single-A Advanced Visalia right-handed pitcher Brandon Sinnery the organization's Minor League Player- and Pitcher-of-the-Month for July, respectively.

Muñoz, 19, hit .360 (31-for-86) with 5 home runs, 25 RBI and 15 runs scored in 23 games in July for the Osprey. In July, he led all Rookie Leaguers in OPS (1.096) and ranked third in slugging percentage (.663) and fourth in RBI. During the month, Muñoz led the Osprey in home runs, RBI, total bases (57) and on-base percentage (.433). He went 12-for-25 (.480) with 11 RBI during the week of July 18-24. Entering the 2013 season, he was rated by as the No. 14 Prospect in the D-backs organization. The Monterey Park, Calif. native was drafted by the D-backs in second round of the 2012 First-Year Player Draft.

Sinnery, 23, went 5-0 with a 1.50 ERA (6 ER in 36.0 IP) and a .169 opponent batting average (22-for-130) with 31 strikeouts in 5 starts, allowing 2 runs or less in each start, in July playing between Single-A South Bend and Visalia. During the month, he tied for the Minor League lead in wins. With the Silver Hawks, Sinnery went 3-0 with a 1.57 ERA (4 ER in 23.0) and recorded his first career complete-game shutout on July 4 at Fort Wayne, giving up 6 hits and striking out 8. As a member of the Rawhide, he went 2-0 with a 1.38 ERA (3 ER in 13.0 IP) and was named California League Pitcher of the Week (July 15-21). A native of Orange, N.J., Sinnery graduated from the University of Michigan and was signed by the D-backs as a First-Year Minor League Free Agent on February 17, 2013.

Every month during the season, the D-backs Player Development staff chooses the player and pitcher most deserving of the honors based on nominations from coaches at each affiliate along with input from the Minor League coordinators. Below is a list of the overall winners as well as player nominated by each affiliate:







Joe Muñoz

Matt Davidson

Dustin Martin

David Peralta


Brandon Sinnery

Evan Marshall

Andrew Chafin

Andrew Barbosa









Fidel Peña

Yogey Perez-Ramos

Joe Muñoz

Justin Williams

Luis Veras


Brandon Sinnery

Daniel Gibson

Luis Ramirez

Anfernee Benitez

Anthony Basora

Arizona Diamondbacks