Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

D-backs' first baseman Paul Goldschmidt earns 2013 Silver Slugger Award

PHOENIX — Arizona Diamondbacks’ first baseman Paul Goldschmidt has been named a Louisville Slugger 2013 Silver Slugger Award® recipient for the National League, as announced by Louisville Slugger. The award recognizes the players who were the best offensive producers at each position in both leagues as voted by Major League Baseball managers and coaches with selections based on a combination of offensive statistics, including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the managers’ and coaches’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.

Goldschmidt, 26, is the sixth player in D-backs history to earn a Silver Slugger Award, joining outfielder Luis Gonzalez (2001), pitcher Micah Owings (2007), pitcher Daniel Hudson (2011), outfielder Justin Upton (2011) and second baseman Aaron Hill (2012).

Goldschmidt, who earlier this offseason won the NL Hank Aaron Award as the league’s top offensive performer, hit .302 (182-for-602) with 36 doubles, 36 home runs, 125 RBI, 99 walks and 103 runs scored in 2013. He was 1 of 3 NL players to boast a .300 average, 35 home runs, 100 RBI, 100 runs scored and 99 walks during their 25-year-old season or earlier, joining Mel Ott (1929 and ’32) and Eddie Mathews (1953).

The 2013 NL All-Star established club records for first baseman in home runs, walks, runs scored and RBI, while ranking among all NL first basemen in slugging percentage (1st, .553), OPS (1st, .955), home runs (1st), runs scored (1st), RBI (1st), total bases (1st, 332), on-base percentage (2nd, .402), walks (2nd), average (3rd) and doubles (3rd).

In addition to the Silver Slugger and Hank Aaron Awards, Goldschmidt was named a finalist for the BBWAA NL Most Valuable Player Award, earned his first Rawlings® Gold Glove Award at first base, and was selected as the club’s MVP by the Arizona chapter of the BBWAA. Goldschmidt is the third NL player to win both the league’s top offensive accolade and defensive honor, joining outfielders Andruw Jones (2005) and Matt Kemp (2011).


Arizona Diamondbacks