Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Parra, D-backs nab defensive honors

Gold Glove winner named NL's best player on 'D;' Arizona NL's No. 1 fielding team

According to an award handed out by Wilson on Thursday, the D-backs can stake their claim as one of the top all-around defensive teams in baseball.

For the second year running, Wilson handed out its Defensive Player of the Year awards, which are determined by using a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics.

D-backs outfielder Gerardo Parra was named the National League's top defender, while Arizona was named the National League Defensive Team of the Year. The awards program consists of each league's best defensive player, the best defensive team in each league and the best defensive player on each team. Boston's Dustin Pedroia was Parra's American League counterpart, while the Royals and Orioles tied for the AL team award.

The D-backs were tied for first in the NL with a .988 fielding percentage and also tied for first with the fewest errors (75). They led all NL clubs with a 51.1 UZR (ultimate zone rating, which combines arm strength, double plays turned, range and errors) and most defensive runs saved (86).

As for Parra, he led all NL outfielders with 17 assists, tying Kansas City's Alex Gordon for the Major League lead. Parra saved 41 defensive runs (tied with Atlanta shortstop Andrelton Simmons for the most in baseball) and turned in an individual 31.1 UZR, which was second in baseball behind Baltimore third baseman Manny Machado.

Parra also earned his second career Gold Glove Award, taking home the NL's right-field honor.

The GIBBY trophy for Defensive Player of the Year will be awarded as part of the 2013 Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards, which are based on voting by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni and the Society for American Baseball Research, as well as fan balloting on

Through Sunday, Dec. 1, fans will be able to cast their ballots at for the year's top defensive star, with no individual league affiliation.

Joey Nowak is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @joeynowak.

Arizona Diamondbacks, Gerardo Parra