Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Dodgers land five former All-Stars on ballot

NEW YORK -- The Dodgers have been collecting past All-Stars, and with the balloting for this year's game having begun, they will soon learn how many current All-Stars they have.

Of their eight position starters listed on this year's All-Star ballot, five Dodgers have been All-Stars in the past: first baseman Adrian Gonzalez (four times), shortstop Hanley Ramirez (three times) and outfielders Carl Crawford (four times), Matt Kemp (two times) and Andre Ethier (two times).

Of the others, second baseman Mark Ellis and catcher A.J. Ellis have played well enough to deserve consideration, while third baseman Luis Cruz has disappointed offensively as his playing time has diminished.

With solid Aprils, Gonzalez and Crawford are already posting All-Star-worthy credentials, while Kemp and Ethier have struggled and Ramirez has been out after right thumb surgery.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or via your mobile device -- using the 2013 All-Star Game Ballot until Thursday, July 4, at 8:59 p.m. PT.

Fans may submit twenty-five (25) online ballots during the voting period, but can also earn a one-time bonus of ten (10) additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, visit and register in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans can also once again participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2013 Home Run Derby -- part of Gatorade All-Star Workout Day -- will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 5 p.m. PT on Monday, July 15.

The 2013 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 7, on the 2013 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show, televised nationally on TBS. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the All-Star Game Final Vote sponsored by on

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the official voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2013 All-Star Game MVP Vote, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the official vote determining the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

The 2013 All-Star Game will be played at Citi Field on Tuesday, July 16. Come to for extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 84th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM also will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

In-stadium voting at Dodger Stadium begins on Friday and ends June 14.

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for

Los Angeles Dodgers, Carl Crawford, Luis Cruz, Mark Ellis, A.J. Ellis, Andre Ethier, Adrian Gonzalez, Matt Kemp, Hanley Ramirez