Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Kershaw wins Starting Pitcher of the Year GIBBY

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. -- Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw added to his hardware collection on Tuesday when he was named winner of the Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) Award as the Starting Pitcher of the Year for 2013.

MLB's A-listers won GIBBY trophies -- the ultimate honors of baseball's awards season -- on Tuesday at the Winter Meetings. More than 10 million votes were cast by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards featured nominees in 22 categories. Individual honors went to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best Starting Pitcher, Hitter, Closer, Setup Man, Rookie, Breakout Hitter, Breakout Pitcher, Comeback Player, Defensive Player, Manager, Executive and Postseason Performer.

GIBBY trophies also were awarded for the year's top Play, Storyline, Hitting Performance, Pitching Performance, Oddity, Walk-off, Cut4 Topic, Regular-Season Moment and Postseason Moment, with video available via's Must C highlight reels.

GIBBY categories included players from both leagues and performances not only from the regular season but also through the end of the playoffs, making them unique in singling out the best of the best.

All 30 clubs were represented among the award candidates. In fact, every team had multiple nominees in 2013 -- a testament to the parity of talent around the game.

In 2013, the 25-year-old Kershaw won his second National League Cy Young Award and third consecutive MLB ERA title at 1.83, the first Dodger ever to three-peat and first in the game since Greg Maddux in 1993-95.

Kershaw made the All-Star Game for a third consecutive year, led the Major Leagues with a 0.92 WHIP, led the NL with 232 strikeouts, was second with 236 innings, was second with a .195 opponents' batting average and tied for third with 16 wins.

He was the only pitcher in the league to finish in the top three in wins, ERA, strikeouts and innings pitched.

Kershaw, who also was a finalist for MVP, beat out fellow starting pitcher GIBBY nominees Max Scherzer, Anibal Sanchez, Bartolo Colon, Yu Darvish, Hisashi Iwakuma, Jordan Zimmermann, Cliff Lee, Matt Harvey, Jose Fernandez, Adam Wainwright and Madison Bumgarner.

Kershaw was the only award winner for the Dodgers, who led the NL with 16 finalists.

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for

Los Angeles Dodgers, Clayton Kershaw