Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Puig, Gordon on first ballot as All-Star voting nears

Fans can help send their favorite Dodgers to Midsummer Classic in Minnesota

LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers Yasiel Puig and Dee Gordon make their first appearances on the National League All-Star ballot, which launches on Friday. Balloting at Dodger Stadium will be May 8 through June 18.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 8:59 p.m. PT. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 5 p.m. PT on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Puig joins fellow Dodgers outfielders Matt Kemp and Andre Ethier on the ballot. Gordon, at second base, joins Dodgers infielders Adrian Gonzalez at first base, Hanley Ramirez at shortstop, Juan Uribe at third base and A.J. Ellis catcher.

Not on the ballot is outfielder Carl Crawford, a four-time All-Star. Candidates for the ballot are submitted by the club and limited to one per position, including three outfielders.

Gonzalez is a four-time All-Star, Ramirez a three-time All-Star, Kemp and Ethier are two-time All-Stars. Uribe and Ellis are looking for their first berths.

Kemp is the last Dodgers player to be voted onto the starting lineup by the fans, in 2012. The Dodgers' only All-Star last year was Clayton Kershaw.

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for

Los Angeles Dodgers