Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Puig, AGon lead in latest All-Star ballot update

Outfielder, first baseman poised to secure starting nods for National League

Two Dodgers' stars continue to lead all vote-getters at their respective positions in the third National League All-Star balloting update released Monday.

Right fielder Yasiel Puig leads all NL outfielders with 1,472,717 votes. Adrian Gonzalez leads NL first basemen with 888,906 votes, and Los Angeles also has three other players represented in the top five at their respective positions, with second baseman Dee Gordon currently in second place, shortstop Hanley Ramirez in fourth place, and third baseman Juan Uribe in fifth.

View Full Game Coverage

Puig, who went into Monday hitting .335 with 11 home runs, 40 RBIs and a 1.021 OPS, leads second-place Giancarlo Stanton of the Marlins by more than 200,000 votes. Stanton has 1,259,047 votes, followed by the Brewers' Carlos Gomez (1,192,174), the Pirates' Andrew McCutchen (1,190,516), and the Rockies' Charlie Blackmon (1,129,313).

Gonzalez, who went into Monday hitting .247 with 12 home runs and 38 RBIs, leads Paul Goldschmidt of the D-backs by more than 100,000 votes. Goldschmidt (784,026) is followed by the Braves' Freddie Freeman (710,778), the Rockies' Justin Morneau (669,917) and Brandon Belt of the Giants (593,693).

Gordon leads the league in triples (6) and stolen bases (36) and currently has 735,831 votes. But he has a long way to go in order to catch leader Chase Utley of the Phillies, who has 1,342,480. Neil Walker of the Pirates is in third place among second basemen with 614,273 votes, followed by the Reds' Brandon Phillips with 441,076 and David Murphy of the Mets with 435,701.

Ramirez is hitting .257 with 17 doubles, 10 home runs and 36 RBIs this season. He currently has 540,513 votes, placing him fourth among NL shortstops, ahead of Andrelton Simmons of the Braves (467,395). The Rockies' Troy Tulowitzki leads all NL vote-getters with 2,007,202, the Giants' Brandon Crawford is second among NL shortstops with 656,719, and the Brewers' Jean Segura is third with 567,481.

Uribe has been on the disabled list with a strained right hamstring, but nonetheless is fifth among NL third baseman with 581,440 votes. He's hitting .303 with 11 doubles, four home runs and 18 RBIs in 40 games this season. He trails the Mets' David Wright (859,082 votes), the Rockies' Nolan Arenado (766,364), the Giants' Pablo Sandoval (714,548), and the Brewers' Aramis Ramirez (615,597).

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 8:59 p.m. PT. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 5 p.m. PT on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Manny Randhawa is an associate reporter for

Los Angeles Dodgers, Adrian Gonzalez, Dee Gordon, Yasiel Puig, Hanley Ramirez, Juan Uribe