Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

RHP Corey Kluber & OF Michael Brantley named finalists for Cy Young & MVP Awards

CLEVELAND, OH - RHP COREY KLUBER and OF MICHAEL BRANTLEY have been named finalists for the 2014 American Cy Young Award and Most Valuable Player Award, respectively. The top three final vote-getters for the 2014 BBWAA Awards were announced this evening on the MLB Network. 

Kluber, 28, is coming off one of the best seasons in Indians history by a starting pitcher, going 18-9 with a 2.44 ERA in 34 starts (235.2IP, 207H, 64ER, 14HR, 51BB, 269SO). He finished tied for 1st in the American League in wins (18) and starts (34), 2nd in strikeouts (269, 6th-most in single-season club history) and 3rd in ERA (2.44) and innings pitched (235.2). He is just the fourth Major League pitcher to since 1987 to post 18 wins, a sub-2.50 ERA while recording at least 260 strikeouts, joining Bob Feller (1946) and Luis Tiant (1968) in Indians history and Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Roger Clemens in the last 28 seasons. He is vying to become the fourth Indians pitcher to garner the A.L. Cy Young Award.

Brantley, 27, earned his first American League All-Star selection and led the club and set career-bests in virtually every offensive category, becoming the first Indians player to amass 200 hits, 45+ doubles, 20+ HR, 20+ stolen bases in the 114-year history of the franchise; he's also just the 9th player in MLB history to reach those numbers. He became the 9th member of the club's 20 homers/20 steal club and the first Indians hitter since 1996 to record 200 hits. Among A.L. batters he finished 3rd in the A.L. in average (.327) and doubles (45), 2nd in hits (200), 4th in on-base pct. (.385), T6th in runs (94), 7th in OPS (.890), 11th in steals (23) and 12th in RBI (97). He is vying to become the first Indians A.L. MVP since Al Rosen in 1953. Manny Ramirez and Roberto Alomar (T3rd 1999) were the last Indians players to finish among the top 3 in the A.L. MVP voting.

Read More: Cleveland Indians