Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Ryan, Ackley finalists for AL Gold Glove Award

SEATTLE -- Shortstop Brendan Ryan and second baseman Dustin Ackley, who formed the Mariners' middle infield for 2012, have both been named finalists for the American League Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

The 2012 Gold Glove Award winners for both the AL and National League will be announced Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. PT during an hour-long show on ESPN2.

Ryan was just named the 2012 Fielding Bible Award winner at shortstop, but has never won a Gold Glove. Ackley, who was converted to second base two years ago after being drafted by the Mariners as an outfielder, is also a first-time nominee.

Gold Glove Awards are voted on by managers and coaches, with each manager and up to six coaches on each staff getting a vote.

Ryan, 30, is one of three AL shortstop finalists, along with Elvis Andrus of Texas and J.J. Hardy of Baltimore. Ackley, 24, is a second-base finalist, along with Robinson Cano of the Yankees and Dustin Pedroia of the Red Sox.

Pedroia won last year's AL Gold Glove at second base, along with the 2008 award. Cano was a '10 Gold Glove winner. None of this year's shortstop nominees has ever won an AL Gold Glove.

Ryan and Ackley anchored the Mariners' defense that tied for the AL lead with a .988 fielding percentage, the second best in club history. The duo combined for a Major League-high 38 defensive runs saved, the most by any middle-infield combination in the Majors.

Ryan led all Major League shortstops with 27 defensive runs saved, and posted a .985 fielding percentage (nine errors in 601 chances) in 138 games at shortstop.

Ackley tied for third among AL second basemen with 11 defensive runs saved. In 142 starts at second base, he made only seven errors in 639 chances, for a .989 fielding percentage.

The Mariners didn't have any AL Gold Glove winners last season, ending a streak of 24 straight years with a Seattle winner. Franklin Gutierrez and Ichiro Suzuki both won outfield awards in 2010, which was the last of 10 consecutive years for Ichiro. Ken Griffey Jr. also won 10 straight Gold Gloves from 1990-99.

Seattle Mariners, Dustin Ackley, Brendan Ryan