Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

In first year with Seattle, Cano seeks All-Star ticket

Second baseman could be club's first position player elected since Ichiro in 2010

SEATTLE -- Five-time All-Star second baseman Robinson Cano heads a list of nine Mariners on the 2014 All-Star ballot that was released Friday by Major League Baseball.

Cano was an American League All-Star for the Yankees the last four years as well as in 2006, and he will have a chance to become the first Mariners position player elected to the Midsummer Classic since Ichiro Suzuki in 2010.

Cano was the biggest free-agent signing in baseball last winter, with a 10-year, $240 million deal that brought him to Seattle.

Corey Hart, a two-time National League All-Star with the Brewers, is also on the ballot this year for Seattle as the club's new right fielder and designated hitter. Hart has played mostly DH this year as he returns from a year-long absence following two microfracture knee surgeries, but he's listed on the ballot as an outfielder.

Also on the ballot from the Mariners are catcher Mike Zunino, first baseman Justin Smoak, shortstop Brad Miller, third baseman Kyle Seager, outfielders Dustin Ackley and Abraham Almonte and designated hitter Logan Morrison.

This will be the first All-Star ballot appearance by Zunino, Miller and Almonte, who all made their Major League debuts in midseason last year. Morrison, acquired from the Marlins in a December trade for reliever Carter Capps, is currently on the 15-day disabled list with a strained right hamstring.

Since Ichiro's last appearance in 2010, the Mariners have been represented at the All-Star Game only by pitchers -- Felix Hernandez, Michael Pineda and Brandon League in 2011, Hernandez in '12 and Hernandez and Hisashi Iwakuma last year.

Mariners fans will be able to vote in person at Safeco Field from May 11 to June 17.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 8:59 p.m. PT. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 5 p.m. PT on July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Greg Johns is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @GregJohnsMLB as well as his Mariners Musings blog.

Seattle Mariners, Dustin Ackley, Abraham Almonte, Robinson Cano, Corey Hart, Brad Miller, Logan Morrison, Kyle Seager, Justin Smoak, Mike Zunino