Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Marlins announce 2013 Opening Day roster

The Miami Marlins today announced their 2013 Opening Day 25-man roster.

The Club will open the season carrying 12 pitchers, two catchers, six infielders and five outfielders for their Opening Day game tomorrow at Nationals Park.

The 25-man roster is as follows:

PITCHERS (12): RHP Steve Cishek, LHP Mike Dunn, RHP Jose Fernandez, LHP Wade LeBlanc, RHP John Maine, RHP Ricky Nolasco, RHP Chad Qualls, RHP A.J. Ramos, RHP Jon Rauch, RHP Alex Sanabia, RHP Kevin Slowey, RHP Ryan Webb.

CATCHERS (2): Rob Brantly, Miguel Olivo.

INFIELDERS (6): Greg Dobbs, Adeiny Hechavarria, Casey Kotchman, Placido Polanco, Donovan Solano, Chris Valaika.

OUTFIELDERS (5): Chris Coghlan, Austin Kearns, Juan Pierre, Justin Ruggiano, Giancarlo Stanton.

15-DAY DL (4): RHP Henderson Alvarez (mild right shoulder inflammation, retro to March 27), RHP Nathan Eovaldi (mild right shoulder inflammation, retro to March 24), Joe Mahoney (intercostal strain, retro to March 22), Jeff Mathis (fractured right clavicle, retro to March 22).

60-DAY DL (3): RHP Jose Ceda, 1B Logan Morrison, OF Alfredo Silverio.

The following transactions were made today to set the Opening Day roster: Jose Ceda, Logan Morrison & Alfredo Silverio placed on the 60-day DL; Henderson Alvarez, Joe Mahoney, Jeff Mathis & Nathan Eovaldi placed on the 15-day DL; Jose Fernandez, John Maine, Chad Qualls, Kevin Slowey, Casey Kotchman, Chris Valaika & Austin Kearns selected; Alex Sanabia recalled; Scott Maine, Gorkys Hernandez, Evan Reed & Zack Cox designated for assignment.

Additional information on the 2013 Marlins is available on the team's official website,

Miami Marlins