Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Davey Johnson named National League’s Manager of the Year, presented by Gillette Odor Shield

Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals has been named the National League’s Manager of the Year within SN’s 2012 MLB Awards, presented by Gillette Odor Shield.

Johnson not only delivered the Nationals’ first winning record since the team relocated to Washington, D.C., in 2005, he led the team to a major-league best 98 wins during the regular season.  Johnson accomplished that thanks to a dominant rotation and bullpen, and a lineup that was able to overcome extended absences by outfielders.

“To be recognized by my fellow comrades, a particularly accomplished bunch, makes this award especially meaningful.  To put on the uniform every day and compete is an honor I never take for granted,” Johnson says.

Sporting News’ Manager of the Year award was decided on by National League managers. 

National League (voting by only NL managers)

1. Davey Johnson: 4 votes

2. Dusty Baker: 3 votes

3. Bruce Bochy/Ron Roenicke: 1 vote

This Week’s SN Award Schedule

Monday: AL and NL Rookies of the Year

Tuesday: AL and NL Comeback Players of the Year

Wednesday: AL and NL Managers of the Year

Thursday: AL and NL All-Star Teams

Friday: MLB Player of the Year

Washington Nationals