Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Call stands after Phillies challenge play at first

PHILADELPHIA -- The Phillies lost an instant replay challenge in the second inning Sunday at Citizens Bank Park.

Nationals shortstop Ian Desmond hit a ball up the middle to start the inning. Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins fielded it and threw to first, and first-base umpire Fieldin Culbreth ruled Desmond safe. It was a close play, but replay showed the ball might have arrived before Desmond's foot hit the bag.

View Full Game Coverage

After reviewing the play, the umpires determined that the call should stand. It ended up having no bearing on the game, which the Phillies won, 1-0.

"There is a clutch rule, as far as having the glove wrapped around the ball," Phillies manager Ryne Sandberg said. "We felt like it was close enough to challenge in a 1-0 game. No outs in the game, a leadoff hitter and a base stealer. Worth a shot right there. It was close enough to where interpretation of grasping the ball or not, I don't know. I thought it was very close whether his foot was still in the air or not."

Todd Zolecki is a reporter for

Washington Nationals, Philadelphia Phillies, Ian Desmond