Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Maddon, Bryant, Arrieta are finalists for BBWAA hardware

BOCA RATON, Fla. -- It's awards season in baseball, and Cubs manager Joe Maddon, third baseman Kris Bryant and pitcher Jake Arrieta will find out next week if they have won one of the coveted Baseball Writers' Association of America Awards. The finalists were announced on Tuesday night.

Maddon, who guided the Cubs to a 97-win season and the team's first postseason berth since 2008 in his first year at the helm, is a candidate for the BBWAA National League Manager of the Year Award, along with the Mets' Terry Collins and the Cardinals' Mike Matheny. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 17, at 5 p.m. CT on MLB Network.

Vote for Cubs in 2015 Esurance MLB Awards
Complete awards coverage

The Cubs have had three managers win the top honor: Jim Frey in 1984, Don Zimmer in 1989 and Lou Piniella in 2008. Maddon won the BBWAA American League Manager of the Year Award in '08 and '11 with the Rays.

Video: NL Rookie of the Year Finalist: Kris Bryant

Bryant, named the top NL rookie by the Major League Baseball Players Association on Monday, will find out if he won the BBWAA Award on Monday at 5 p.m. CT on MLB Network. The other candidates include the Giants' Matt Duffy and the Pirates' Jung Ho Kang.

Bryant led all Major League rookies in several offensive categories, including RBIs (99) and doubles (31). He finished tied with the Dodgers' Joc Pederson for most home runs at 26. The last Cubs rookie to win the award was Geovany Soto in 2008.

Video: NL Cy Young Finalist: Jake Arrieta

Arrieta is a finalist for the BBWAA NL Cy Young Award, along with the Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke. The Cubs' right-hander, who led the Major Leagues with 22 wins and was second to Greinke with a 1.77 ERA, will find out the winner on Wednesday, Nov. 18, at 5 p.m. CT on MLB Network.

Other Cubs pitchers to win the Cy Young Award include Fergie Jenkins in 1971, Bruce Sutter in '79, Rick Sutcliffe in '84 and Greg Maddux in '92.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings. You can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat and listen to her podcast.
Read More: Chicago Cubs, Jake Arrieta, Kris Bryant