Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Asdrubal ejected in second for arguing strike calls

CLEVELAND -- Indians shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera didn't take his second-inning strikeout very well on Sunday, and following an exchange of words with home-plate umpire Vic Carapazza, Cabrera was ejected for the second time in his career.

After he was thrown out, Cabrera continued to voice his displeasure, and he tossed his bat and helmet toward the batter's box as he walked back to the dugout. Manager Terry Francona then came out to speak with Carapazza, but did not say enough to get ejected.

"I said, 'Did he say something out of [line]?' He said, 'No,'" Francona said. "He said he just argued strikes and balls. I just thought maybe that was a younger umpire maybe trying to show his authority a little bit. I thought he got a little aggressive there. I don't think he needed to throw him out."

In his first and only at-bat against Angels right-hander Jerome Williams, Cabrera swung through a 2-2 cutter for the third strike. Both of the previous two strikes were called by Carapazza, and Francona said Cabrera took issue with the low curveball that went for strike two.

Cabrera has animatedly made his frustrations at the plate known in recent games, mainly by occasionally spiking his helmet following poor plate appearances. Since the beginning of July, he's hitting .193 with seven doubles, three home runs and 18 RBIs.

At the time of Cabrera's ejection, the Indians trailed, 4-0. Mike Aviles took over for Cabrera, playing shortstop and hitting cleanup. Aviles' two-run homer in the sixth helped lift Cleveland to a 6-5 win that halted a six-game losing streak.

Jordan Bastian is a reporter for Read his blog, Major League Bastian, and follow him on Twitter @MLBastian. Mark Emery is an associate reporter for
Read More: Cleveland Indians, Asdrubal Cabrera