Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Astros' challenge erases Prince's double

HOUSTON -- Astros manager Bo Porter successfully challenged a play in the fourth inning of Tuesday's game against the Rangers, getting a call at second base overturned.

Texas slugger Prince Fielder began the inning with a shot down the left-field line, beating the Astros' defensive shift. As the ball caromed off the wall that sticks out in foul ground, Fielder lumbered toward second and slid headfirst into the bag just as third baseman Matt Dominguez tagged him. Umpire Bill Welke called Fielder safe.

The replay showed the ball beat Fielder to the base, and it was decided after reviewing the video that the tag did as well. The call was overturned, and Fielder was out.

Porter has now been successful on seven of 10 challenges this year.

Because the call was overturned, Porter retained his ability to challenge another play during the game. No manager may challenge more than two plays in a game. Once the manager has exhausted his ability to challenge plays during the game and after the beginning of the seventh inning, the crew chief may choose to invoke instant replay on any reviewable call.

Brian McTaggart is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Tag's Lines. Follow @brianmctaggart on Twitter.
Read More: Texas Rangers, Houston Astros, Matt Dominguez, Prince Fielder, L.J. Hoes