Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Darvish and Freese win, going to All-Star Game

Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish and Cardinals third baseman David Freese are each headed to their first All-Star Game, thanks to a 2012 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Firestone in which fans smashed online voting records and put a giant exclamation point on an unprecedented Major League Baseball balloting campaign.

The 83rd All-Star Game is scheduled to be played Tuesday in Kansas City, and Darvish and Freese have been added to the 34th and final spots on each roster. Darvish becomes the eighth Rangers player for the American League and Texas manager Ron Washington, and for Freese it reunites the 2011 World Series MVP with his former Cardinals manager, National League skipper Tony La Russa, who is coming out of retirement just for the Midsummer Classic.

Darvish received 7.3 million votes and Freese garnered 8.4 million.

Darvish joins Hideki Matsui (2004) and Hideki Okajima (2007) as Japanese winners on the AL side of the Final Vote. The right-hander was a wire-to-wire winner, holding off a gallant bid by White Sox veteran Jake Peavy. That pair was followed in order by righties Jason Hammel of the Orioles, Jonathan Broxton of the Royals and Ernesto Frieri of the Angels.

"I feel very good," Darvish said after the Rangers' 2-1 loss to the White Sox at U.S. Cellular Field. "I know the way that I got selected was a vote by the fans so I appreciate all the fans who voted for me. I'm looking forward to it.

"If I am available to pitch and if I do get in the game, I'd like to display the best performance I can for the fans to enjoy. Do I still think I'm worthy or not? Personally I voted for Peavy."

It is the first Final Vote triumph by a Rangers player and extends their dream All-Star campaign. Washington already was planning to manage these seven: top vote-getter Josh Hamilton in the outfield, pitchers Joe Nathan and Matt Harrison, catcher Mike Napoli, second baseman Ian Kinsler, shortstop Elvis Andrus and third baseman Adrian Beltre.

Freese became the NL leader on Tuesday when MLB announced that Chipper Jones, the leader after 42 hours of voting, was replacing Matt Kemp on the NL roster. Finishing in order behind Freese were Braves center fielder Michael Bourn, Nationals right fielder Bryce Harper and D-backs second baseman Aaron Hill.

Freese, the first Cardinals player to win the Final Vote, pushed his RBI total to 50 on Wednesday with a two-run single. The only NL third basemen with more this season is Mets All-Star David Wright. Freese is batting .285, and .282 with runners in scoring position. He ranks second among all NL third baseman with 13 home runs.

"It's St. Louis," Freese said of the huge support he received from Redbird Nation. "They love Cardinal baseball."

Freese had said that being reunited with La Russa was the biggest part of the honor, should fans give it to him. And they did.

"For me, it's not about going to the All-Star Game," Freese explained. "It's about playing for Tony La Russa one more time."

The Final Vote concluded with the first-ever Twitter vote as tweets with a player's designated hashtag counted in his overall total. This effort drew a sustained average of more than 2,500 tweets per minute, highlighted by a peak of 8,881 at 3:59 p.m. ET, and accounted for nine percent of the total votes cast during the four-hour window. The leading Twitter vote-getter was #VoteBourn, followed by #FreesePlease, #VoteYu, #TakeJake and #BryceIn12 in the top five. All of the leading contenders had their hashtags trending in the U.S. and worldwide and all nine candidates trended in their local markets, ultimately leading to 50 million total votes cast.

The Final Vote was a continuation of a record-shattering 2012 fan balloting campaign. On Thursday, finished the voting for the 17 starting position players via the 2012 All-Star Game Ballot, with 391.2 million votes and 34.9 million ballots. Both figures were easily the largest totals recorded in the history of online balloting at

Here is the complete list of previous winners: Paul Konerko (AL, 2011); Shane Victorino (NL, 2011); Nick Swisher (AL, 2010); Joey Votto (NL, 2010); Brandon Inge (AL, 2009), Victorino (NL, 2009); Evan Longoria (AL, 2008); Corey Hart (NL, 2008); Hideki Okajima (AL, 2007); Chris Young (NL, 2007); A.J. Pierzynski (AL, 2006); Nomar Garciaparra (NL, 2006); Scott Podsednik (AL, 2005); Roy Oswalt (NL, 2005); Matsui (AL, 2004); Bobby Abreu (NL, 2004); Jason Varitek (AL, 2003); Geoff Jenkins (NL, 2003); Johnny Damon (AL, 2002); and Andruw Jones (NL, 2002).

The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the official voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2012 All-Star Game MVP Vote, and their voices will represent 20 percent of the official vote determining the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

The 83rd All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and Sirius XM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit or