Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Trio added to AFL Hall of Fame

Mark Teixeira, Derek Lowe, Ron Washington to be inducted

Arizona Fall League
PHOENIX, Ariz. -- The Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame announces the election of three new members to its Hall of Fame: New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and pitcher Derek Lowe, and Texas Rangers manager Ron Washington.

"Our Fall League Hall of Fame roster swells to 31 members as we welcome Mark Teixeira, Derek Lowe and Ron Washington as our 2012 honorees. Mark and Derek have been remarkably consistent professionals throughout their standout careers, and Ron has become one of the most respected managers in baseball."

Mark Teixeira - 2002 Peoria Javelinas
The fastest switch-hitter to 300 home runs in Major-League history, Teixeria is also the first switch-hitter with 20 home runs in each of his first 10 Major League seasons. He is the only Major Leaguer to reach 30 home runs and 100 RBIs each of the past eight seasons (2004-11). Defensively, Teixeria is the American League career fielding percentage leader among first basemen (minimum 1,000 games). He is a two-time All-Star, four-time Gold Glove recipient and three-time Silver Slugger. He has homered from both sides of the plate in the same game 13 times, the MLB record.

Derek Lowe - 1993 Sun Cities Solar Sox, 1995 Peoria Javelinas
A two-time Fall Leaguer, Lowe is one of three pitchers (John Smoltz and Dennis Eckersley) with at least 160 wins and 80 saves. A two-time MLB All-Star, Lowe logged the most MLB starts from 2002-11. He is one of five Fall Leaguers to hurl an MLB no-hitter (Clay Buchholz, Roy Halladay, Phil Humber, Jered Weaver). The durable Lowe has won 174 games with 2,638 2/3 innings pitched and joins Livan Hernandez as the only active players with 14 or more MLB seasons who never have been on the disabled list. In 2004, Lowe earned the victory in all three of Boston's clinching games of the ALDS, ALCS and World Series. In 2002, he also fired the 17th no-hitter in Red Sox history and the first at Fenway Park since 1965.

Ron Washington - hitting coach, 1992 Sun Cities Solar Sox, 1993 Tucson Javelinas
Washington, who helped establish the Fall League as a club hitting coach during the league's first two seasons (1992-93), is the first manager in Rangers' history to increase his team's win total in four consecutive seasons. He guided Texas to back-to-back AL pennants and World Series appearances in 2010-11. He boasts the highest managerial winning percentage in Rangers' history with a minimum of two full seasons and remains the only manager in Texas/Washington franchise annals (1961-2011) to win a postseason series. He also joins Bobby Cox, Charlie Manuel and Joe Torre as the only managers in the Division Series era to advance their clubs to consecutive World Series.

Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame
The Arizona Fall League, founded in 1992, formed its Hall of Fame in 2001 to honor the top Major League players and managers who honed their skills in the AFL. The selection committee, chaired by baseball ambassador Roland Hemond, the "Architect of the Arizona Fall League," bases its appointments upon individual achievement at the Major League level since participating in the Arizona Fall League.

Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame Members

Garret Anderson
Dusty Baker
Chris Carpenter
Jermaine Dye
Terry Francona
Nomar Garciaparra
Jason Giambi
Brian Giles
Shawn Green
Roy Halladay
Todd Helton
Ryan Howard
Torii Hunter
Derek Jeter
Paul Konerko
Derrek Lee
Grady Little
Derek Lowe
Ken Macha
Jerry Manuel
Tony Pena
Troy Percival
Mike Piazza
Albert Pujols
Jimmy Rollins
Mike Scioscia
Alfonso Soriano
Mark Teixeira
Ron Washington
Eric Wedge
Michael Young