Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Arizona Fall League inducts trio into Hall of Fame

Rangers manager Washington, Yankees' Teixeira, Lowe newest members
Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and pitcher Derek Lowe were elected into the Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame on Tuesday, along with Rangers manager Ron Washington.

With the trio's induction, the AFL expanded its Hall of Fame to 31 players and coaches, the likes of which include Derek Jeter, Roy Halladay and Albert Pujols.

"We welcome Mark Teixeira, Derek Lowe and Ron Washington as our 2012 honorees," Fall League director Steve Cobb said in a release. "Mark and Derek have been remarkably consistent professionals throughout their standout careers, and Ron has become one of the most respected managers in baseball."

Teixeira and Lowe both played for the Peoria Javelinas in the Fall League -- Teixeira in 2002 and Lowe in 1995. Lowe also played for the Sun Cities Solar Sox in 1993.

Washington was a hitting coach for the Solar Sox in the league's first two years of existence, 1992-93.The Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame was founded in 2001 in order to recognize Major League Baseball's best players and coaches who used the AFL to help develop their skills.

AJ Cassavell is a reporter for

Derek Lowe, Mark Teixeira