Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

MLB Announces League Championship Series Umpires

Kellogg will serve as ALCS Crew Chief; Darling will lead NLCS Crew

Major League Baseball today announced the two umpiring crews assigned to the American League Championship Series, beginning tonight at Yankee Stadium, and the National League Championship Series, beginning Sunday at San Francisco's AT&T Park. The ALCS crew chief will be Jeff Kellogg, while the NLCS crew chief will be Gary Darling.

Kellogg, who will work the ALCS between the Detroit Tigers and the New York Yankees, has more than 20 years of Major League experience and this will mark his 18th career Postseason assignment. His ALCS crew will include regular season crew chiefs Mike Winters and Gary Cederstrom and Jeff Nelson, Sam Holbrook and Rob Drake.

Darling, who will oversee the NLCS between the St. Louis Cardinals and the San Francisco Giants, is a 26-year Major League Umpire and this will be his 17th career Postseason assignment. His NLCS crew will include regular season crew chief Jerry Layne, Ted Barrett, Bill Miller, Greg Gibson and Chris Guccione.

Both LCS crews worked the Wild Card Games presented by Budweiser. Kellogg’s crew was assigned to the National League game between the St. Louis Cardinals and the Atlanta Braves, while Darling’s crew worked the American League game between the Baltimore Orioles and the Texas Rangers.

TBS will air the American League Championship Series, while FOX Sports will broadcast the National League Championship Series. ESPN Radio will provide live national coverage of all 2012 MLB Postseason games, including both League Championship Series and the 2012 World Series.

Umpires for the 108th World Series will be announced before it begins. A complete listing of the rotations assigned to the League Championship Series follows.