Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Reds shut out of Gold Glove honors

CINCINNATI -- The Reds had a Major League-leading six finalists up for Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Tuesday.

When it was all said and done, they went 0-for-6.

Cincinnati's finalists were pitcher Bronson Arroyo, first baseman Joey Votto, second baseman Brandon Phillips, shortstop Zack Cozart, center fielder Drew Stubbs and right fielder Jay Bruce.

Phillips was seeking his fourth National League Gold Glove and his third consecutive, but lost out to the Cubs' Darwin Barney. That might have been the biggest surprise of the night for Cincinnati.

Even though Barney had a higher fielding percentage at .997 compared to Phillips' .992 and a 141-game errorless streak, Phillips has demonstrated more range and highlight-grabbing plays.

Votto was a first time Gold Glove winner in 2011 and Arroyo won his only Gold Glove in 2010. Cozart, Stubbs and Bruce were seeking their first recognition for defense.

Major League managers and coaches select the winners of the Gold Glove Awards, but they could not vote for their own players.

Cincinnati Reds, Bronson Arroyo, Jay Bruce, Zack Cozart, Brandon Phillips, Drew Stubbs, Joey Votto