Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Trout is Negro Leagues Legacy Awards' AL MVP

KANSAS CITY -- Mike Trout settled for runner-up when the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced its choice for American League MVP on Thursday, but the Angels' rookie sensation took home the Junior Circuit's top honor when the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum announced its annual Legacy Awards on Friday.

Trout received the AL's Oscar Charleston Award, recognizing the league's most valuable player, as well as the Larry Doby Award for top rookie and the James "Cool Papa" Bell Award for his stolen-base title. BBWAA AL MVP Miguel Cabrera didn't go unnoticed, however, as the Tigers slugger picked up the AL's Josh Gibson and Walter "Buck" Leonard Awards in recognition of his home run and batting titles, respectively.

The Legacy Awards will be presented on Saturday night, Jan. 12, at the Gem Theater, just across the street from the museum near 18th and Vine in Kansas City.

There'll be a show-biz aspect to this year's program. Charley Pride, who was a Negro Leagues pitcher before he became a famed country singer, will receive the Jackie Robinson Award for lifetime achievement. Pride played for the Memphis Red Sox in 1953 and went on to record such hits as "Kiss an Angel Good Mornin'" and "Kaw-Liga."

Buck O'Neil Awards for outstanding support of the museum will go to Sports on Earth writer and former Kansas City Star columnist Joe Posnanski, and to James B. Nutter & Co., a Kansas City mortgage lender and longtime supporter of baseball in the area.

MLB Network analyst Harold Reynolds will receive the Sam Lacy Award for baseball journalist of the year.

Legacy Awards to baseball personnel in the American and National Leagues, respectively, will be presented as follows:

Oscar Charleston Award: Trout; Andrew McCutchen, Pirates

Wilber "Bullet" Rogan Award for pitcher of the year: David Price, Rays; R.A. Dickey, Mets

Josh Gibson Award: Cabrera; Ryan Braun, Brewers

James "Cool Papa" Bell Award: Trout; Everth Cabrera, Padres

Walter "Buck" Leonard Award: Cabrera; Buster Posey, Giants

Larry Doby Award: Trout; Bryce Harper, Nationals

Hilton Smith Award for reliever of the year: Jim Johnson, Orioles; Craig Kimbrel, Braves

John Henry "Pop" Lloyd Award for baseball and community leadership: Adam Jones, Orioles

Andrew "Rube" Foster Award for executive of the year: Billy Beane, Athletics; John Mozeliak, Cardinals

C.I. Taylor Award for manager of the year: Buck Showalter, Orioles; Dusty Baker, Reds

Ryan Braun, Everth Cabrera, Miguel Cabrera, R.A. Dickey, Bryce Harper, Jim Johnson, Adam Jones, Craig Kimbrel, Andrew McCutchen, Buster Posey, David Price, Mike Trout