Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Player-officer election results released

Granderson, Guthrie return as association player reps

Major League Baseball Players Association
NEW YORK -- The Major League Baseball Players Association today announced the results of its biennial player-officer elections.

Returning to their posts as association player representatives, the highest elected positions in the union, are Curtis Granderson (Yankees) and Jeremy Guthrie (Royals). Justin Masterson (Indians) was elected alternate association player representative, joining returnee Carlos Villanueva (free agent).

Chris Capuano (Dodgers) returns as one of two pension committee representatives to serve alongside newcomer Craig Breslow (Red Sox). Returning as alternate pension committee representatives are Ross Ohlendorf (free agent) and Kevin Slowey (free agent).

In accordance with the union's constitution and by-laws, elections for association player representatives and alternates and pension committee representatives and alternates are held during executive board meetings in even-numbered years. Each of the above players will serve a two-year term.