Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

San Francisco’s Staci Slaughter honored with the 2012 Fishel Award

Nashville, TN -- Staci Slaughter, the Senior Vice President of Communications for the San Francisco Giants, has been named the recipient of the 2012 Robert O. Fishel Award for Public Relations Excellence, presented this evening during the Baseball Winter Meetings.

The Robert O. Fishel Award, named after the longtime baseball executive, goes to the "active, non-uniformed representative of Major League Baseball whose ethics, character, dedication, service, professionalism and humanitarianism best represent the standards propounded by Robert O. Fishel."  Fishel, an executive with the Cleveland Indians, the St. Louis Browns, the New York Yankees and the American League Office, was the inaugural winner of the Award in 1981.

Slaughter oversees the Giants’ media relations, public affairs, marketing communications programs, social media and community outreach activities and serves on the franchise’s Management Committee.  A member of the organization since 1996, Slaughter has helped manage the Club’s jewel events and the accompanying media operations, including for the 2000 opening of AT&T Park, the 2007 All-Star Game, three World Series (2002, 2010, 2012) and two World Series Championship parades in the last three years.  She also has handled the Club’s response to unique challenges on and off the field throughout her tenure.  The University of California-Berkeley graduate plays a key role in the Club’s charitable endeavors, including the team’s partnership with the Willie Mays Boys & Girls Club at Hunter’s Point, the 100% Player Participation Program and the Giants Community Fund. 

Before joining the Giants, Slaughter was the press secretary to former San Francisco Mayor Frank Jordan, serving as his primary media liaison, spokesperson and speechwriter.  She has been a resident of San Francisco for more than 20 years.  Staci and her husband Jamie have two sons, Jake and Ben.

Fishel Award nominees are submitted by the 30 Major League Clubs and league officials.  The nominees are voted upon by active past winners, MLB officials and the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

The previous winners of the Fishel Award are:

1981 – Robert O. Fishel, American League

1982 – Robert W. Brown, Baltimore Orioles

1983 – Larry Shenk, Philadelphia Phillies

1984 – Arthur E. (Red) Patterson, California Angels

1985 – Jim Ferguson, Cincinnati Reds

1986 – Fred Claire, Los Angeles Dodgers

1987 – Jim Toomey, St. Louis Cardinals

1988 – Tom Mee, Minnesota Twins

1989 – Donald Davidson, Houston Astros

1990 – Ned Colletti, Chicago Cubs

1991 – Phyllis K. Merhige, American League

1992 – Richard Griffin, Montreal Expos

1993 – John Blake, Texas Rangers

1994 – Katy Feeney, National League

1995 – Howard Starkman, Toronto Blue Jays

1996 – Bill Guilfoile, National Baseball Hall of Fame

1997 – Dick Bresciani, Boston Red Sox

1998 – Jay Horwitz, New York Mets

1999 – Bob DiBiasio, Cleveland Indians

2000 – Tim Mead, Anaheim Angels

2001 – Rob Matwick, Houston Astros

2002 – Mike Swanson, Arizona Diamondbacks

2003 – Rick Vaughn, Tampa Bay Devil Rays

2004 – Jeff Idelson, National Baseball Hall of Fame

2005 – Randy Adamack, Seattle Mariners

2006 – Rob Butcher, Cincinnati Reds

2007 – Richard Levin, Major League Baseball

2008 – Scott Reifert, Chicago White Sox

2009 – Patrick Courtney, Major League Baseball

2010 – Jay Alves, Colorado Rockies

2011 – Jim Trdinich, Pittsburgh Pirates

San Francisco Giants