Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

All-Star Game MLB.COM Final Vote Update #1

Freeman, Delabar lead wild early races; More than 16 million votes cast

More than 16 million votes are in. Tens of millions of votes, including Thursday's Twitter vote, still to come. Each race in the 2013 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by (#FinalVote) is shaping up to be among the closest in program history as current leaders Freddie Freeman of the Atlanta Braves and Steve Delabar of the Toronto Blue Jays vie to maintain their spots atop the National and American League standings, respectively. Voting is held exclusively online via, the official website of Major League Baseball, and the Club websites.

In a wild opening to the American League race, Delabar is among four candidates to hold a lead. Koji Uehara, David Robertson and Joaquin Benoit each have been in first and currently sit in second, third and fourth place, respectively. Remarkably, less than 600,000 votes separate the entire AL field, Delabar to Tanner Scheppers, who ranks fifth.

The National League race also is close among the candidates at the top of the standings as Freeman has caught and passed the early National League leaders, Yasiel Puig and Hunter Pence, en route to his current standing. Ian Desmond and Adrian Gonzalez rank fourth and fifth, respectively.


American League

1. Steve Delabar (TOR) - #RaiseTheBar (A2)

2. Koji Uehara (BOS) - #HighFiveCiti (A5)

3. David Robertson (NYY) - #HighSocksForVotes (A3)

4. Joaquin Benoit (DET) - #BackBenoit (A1)

5. Tanner Scheppers (TEX) - #TakeTanner (A4)


National League

1. Freddie Freeman (ATL) - #Vote Freddie (N2)

2. Yasiel Puig (LAD) - #VotePuig (N5)

3. Hunter Pence (SF) - #VotePence (N4)

4. Ian Desmond (WSH) - #DesiIn13 (N1)

5. Adrian Gonzalez (LAD) - #VoteTitan (N3)

Fans may use mobile phones to cast votes at or via text message. To receive the All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by mobile ballot, text the word "VOTE" to 89269. To vote for a specific player, fans can text the choice to 89269. EXAMPLE: Text "A3" to vote for AL Player 3 or "N3" to vote for NL Player 3. Standard message and data rates may apply. Mobile voting in Canada also is available and fans should text their choices to 101010.


The All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by will count Twitter support from fans over the last six hours of balloting toward candidates' vote totals. From 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. (EDT) on Thursday, July 11, all tweets with a designated player hashtag will be tabulated as part of the official vote total used to determine the American League and National League winners. Fans will be able to follow @MLB on the popular social networking service for the latest standings updates over the course of the entire five-day voting period.

FREE MLB.TV TRIAL is giving eligible voters a 14-day free trial of MLB.TV from July 12-26, 2013. Current MLB.TV subscribers will receive a Shop discount to the Shop. Fans will receive an e-mail notifying them of the instructions for redeeming their respective All-Star Final Vote offers.

The 84th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports; in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS; and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. Pregame ceremonies will begin at 7:30 p.m. (EDT). ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network, and Sirius XM also will provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, visit or