Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

AFL announces '13 staff assignments

Coaches have combined 86 years of big league experience

Arizona Fall League

PHOENIX -- Arizona Fall League Director Steve Cobb announces organization and staff (managers, pitching coaches, hitting coaches, athletic trainers) for the Arizona Fall League's 2013 season that begins Tuesday, October 8.

Regarded throughout professional baseball as the "finishing school" for top prospects since its inception in 1992, the six-team league features top prospects from every organization in Major League Baseball. The league plays three games per day six days a week (Monday-Saturday) in five Cactus League stadiums. This year, Camelback Ranch-Glendale replaces Phoenix Municipal Stadium and two teams will play at Surprise Stadium during the renovation of the Peoria Sports Complex. Mesa Hohokam Stadium, Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, Scottsdale Stadium return as venues.

Daily start times are 12:35 p.m. and 6:35 p.m.

The eighth annual Fall Stars Game will be played Saturday, November 2 at Surprise Stadium. The league's championship contest will be played Saturday, November 16 at Scottsdale Stadium.

The 2013 schedule will be released by early August followed by rosters in late August.

Nine of this year's managers and coaches pack 86 years of major-league playing experience: Tim Worrell (14), Rich Gedman (13), Tom Browning (12), Steve Karsay (11), Tommy Gregg and Russ Morman (9), Mike Maroth and Jim Pankovits (6), Ozzie Timmons (5) and Darryl Scott (1). Browning was an all-star in 1991, and on September 26, 1988, the former Reds' lefty became the first player in MLB history to throw a perfect game against the eventual World Series champion when he stymied the Dodgers 1-0. Gedman was a two-time (1985-86) all-star catcher for the Red Sox.

The Arizona Fall League is owned and operated by Major League Baseball.

2013 East Division

Mesa Solar Sox

(Hohokam Stadium)
• Chicago Cubs
• Detroit Tigers
• Los Angeles Angels
• Oakland Athletics
• Washington Nationals
Bill Richardson (Angels)
Pitching Coach
Mike Maroth (Tigers)
Hitting Coach
Troy Gingrich (Nationals)
Scott Barringer (Cubs)
Travis Timms (Athletics)

Salt River Rafters

(Salt River Fields)
• Arizona Diamondbacks
• Colorado Rockies
• St. Louis Cardinals
• Tampa Bay Rays
• Toronto Blue Jays
Mike Shildt (Cardinals)
Pitching Coach
Darryl Scott (Rockies)
Hitting Coach
Ozzie Timmons (Rays)
Masa Abe (Diamondbacks)
Shawn McDermott (Blue Jays)

Scottsdale Scorpions

(Scottsdale Stadium)
• Atlanta Braves
• New York Mets
• New York Yankees
• Pittsburgh Pirates
• San Francisco Giants
Russ Morman (Giants)
Pitching Coach
Stan Kyles (Pirates)
Hitting Coach
Luis Rivera (Mets)
Julio Hernandez (Braves)
Lee Meyer (Yankees)

2013 West Division

Glendale Desert Dogs

(Camelback Ranch-Glendale)
• Chicago White Sox
• Cincinnati Reds
• Los Angeles Dodgers
• Miami Marlins
• Minnesota Twins
Jeff Smith (Twins)
Pitching Coach
Tom Browning (Reds)
Hitting Coach
Johnny Washington (Dodgers)
James Kruk (White Sox)
Cesar Roman (Marlins)

Peoria Javelinas

(Surprise Stadium)
• Houston Astros
• Kansas City Royals
• Philadelphia Phillies
• San Diego Padres
• Seattle Mariners
Jim Pankovits (Mariners)
Pitching Coach
Tim Worrell (Padres)
Hitting Coach
Tommy Gregg (Royals)
Mickey Kozack (Phillies)
Bryan Bacha (Astros)

Surprise Saguaros

(Surprise Stadium)
• Baltimore Orioles
• Boston Red Sox
• Cleveland Indians
• Milwaukee Brewers
• Texas Rangers
Gary Kendall (Orioles)
Pitching Coach
Steve Karsay (Indians)
Hitting Coach
Rich Gedman (Red Sox)
Sean Fields (Rangers)
Steve Patera (Brewers)